The Biggest Blunders In Golf History

>
Published 13/08/2008 23:15:58
 

Golf is a game of many rules and many pitfalls, especially for the "Sunday golfer". So it's refreshing to see the professionals mess things up every now and again. Take a look at some of the best blunders of modern golf.

 

Roberto De Vincenzo - 1968

 

Reigning British Open champion Roberto De Vicenzo finishes tied with Bob Goalby at 11 under at the 1968 masters. However, he had to adjust his score when officials learn that De Vicenzo's playing partner, Tommy Aaron, mistakenly wrote down a par-4 on No,17 instead of the Argentine's correct score - a birdie 3. Since he'd signed his scorecard, De Vicenzo had to settle for the higher score and finished a shot behind Goalby. De Vicenzo blamed himself, not Aaron, for the mistake. "What a stupid I am," he said.

 

T.C. Chen - 1985

 

Leading by four strokes on the fifth hole at the 1985 US Open, Chen was on track for his first career major championship title. With his ball buried in deep greenside rough, Chen's wedge shot made double contact with the ball, resulting in two strokes on the scorecard. He went on to three-putt for a quadruple-bogey 8, erasing his entire lead.

 

TC Chen, which stood for Tze-Chung, was forever known as "Two-Chip Chen" after this unfortunate mistake.

 

Paul Azinger - 1991

 

During the first round of the 1991 Doral Ryder Open, Paul Azinger hits his drive into the lake adjacent to the 18th fairway on Doral's famous "Blue Monster" layout. Azinger chips the partially submeged ball back onto the fairway but while he's taking his stance his left foot moves a rock in the water. The next day, after a second round 65 had put him within a shot of the lead, officials inform him he has been disqualified for moving an object in a hazard. A television view had watched the event and called Tour officials, who confirm Azinger had mvoed the rock. Because he's already signed his scorecard, Azginer is disqualified.

 

Greg Norman - 1996

greg norman nick faldo masters

After equally the course record on day one, Norman was sure to erase the pain of 86 and 87's major miseries, right? Wrong. Over the final 12 holes, eventual champion Nick Faldo gained a massive 10 shots over Norman, who blundered to a final round 78.

 

This was Norman's best chance of a Green Jacket - and perhaps the most painful of all his Major defeats.

 

Jaxon Brigman - 1999

 

Aspiring PGA Tour pro Jaxon Brigham pieces together a final round 65 at the 1999 Qualifying School Tournament, but inadvertently signs his scorecard which adds up to 66. The extra shot cost him his PGA Tour card.

 

Jean Van De Velde - 1999

 

Frenchman Van De Velde looked to have the 1999 Open at Carnoustie sewn up; final hole, chasing pack Lawrie and Leonard 3 shots back, he could make double bogey and still win the Claret Jug.

 

Unfortunately for Van De Velde, what followed was a comedy of errors which peaked with the famous scenes of him paddling in the water, contemplating whether to hit the ball out of the drink. Inbetween he hit an errant tee shot, a TV tower and finally took a drop by the water.

 

He went on to lose the playoff to Paul Lawrie.

 

Raymond Russell - 2001

 

After marking his ball on the 17th green during play at the 2001 English Open, Raymond Russell tosses the ball to his caddie who misses the throw and allows the ball to drop into a water hazard. Russell is unable to find the ball in the pond and is saddled with a two stroke penalty for finishing the hole with the wrong ball!

 

Ian Woosnam - 2001

 

The rule limiting players to 14 clubs has been broken often since its inception in 1938 by the USGA. Yet few violations of the rule have been as public as Ian Woosnam's blunder at the 2001 British Open. The Welshman began the final round among the leaders but discovered on the second hole his caddie had failed to remove a driver he'd been testing from his bag on the practice range before the round. The ensuing two-stroke penalty cost Woosnam a shot at the title. "At the moment, I felt like I had been kicked in the teeth" said Woosnam.

 

Michelle Wie - 2005

golf putter

In her much-anticipated professional debut, teenage phenom Michelle Wie takes a penalty drop for an unplayable lie during the third round of the 2005 LPGA Samsung World Championship. A reporter for Sports Illustrated watches the incident and concludes Wie dropped closer to the hole than where the ball originally lay, a violation of the rules. The reporter doesn't inform officials of the incident until the next day. Wie is disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.

 

Phil Mickelson - 2006

 

Mickelson led by one going into the final hole, this was to be his third straight major and further impose his dominance on the game. However after an errant tee shot, "Lefty" went for an aggressive recovery which ultimately cost him the title.

 

"I am such an idiot."

 




Comments


Add your comment